Why Player Placement Process?

In general sporting terms, the word ‘tryouts’ is commonly used. However, at the Charlotte Independence Soccer Club we use the phrase ‘Player Placement Process’ – Why? Because we have a very specific philosophy and process around player development. Our goal is to place players in an environment where they can ultimately be successful and where they are constantly challenged. Players are supposed to try, they are supposed to work hard. If you’ve been a player at the Independence then we already know what team/program you should be placed in based on your effort and performance from the previous season. You will be on an individual development plan at the club. You’ve been ‘trying’ all year. Get it? Non-members who want to be part of CISC are allowed to participate in specific windows of ‘tryouts’ where the technical staff evaluates them and places them in an environment to ultimately be challenged and successful. Hence we use Player Placement Process to describe how we approach forming teams for the upcoming season. Check out our detailed explanation on how to register for the upcoming season below! Know what you are doing? Click the register button below to start the process! Are you from outside of our club and are interested in signing up for a tryout? Click here to be taken to our tryout page! Looking for a specific contact for a program and have questions about the process or tryout dates? All Program Directors are listed at the bottom of the page for you to use!
 

 

 

Contact Directory

Director

Program

Email

Dave Carton

Technical Director

davec@independencesoccer.club

Jeff Bilyk

Pro Academy

jeffb@independencesoccer.club

John Tart

Pre-Academy Contact 

johnt@independencesoccer.club

Barry Slagle

North Boys ECNL Futures 

barrys@independencesoccer.club

Ty Haddock Senior Boys Director North Meck/Lake Norman tyh@independencesoccer.club

Juan Vazquez

East Cabarrus Director (Boys and Girls)

juanv@independencesoccer.club

Carlos Martinez South Matthews Director (Boys)

carlosm@independencesoccer.club

Tom McEnery

Senior Boys York County / Matthews

South Boys ECNL Futures 

tome@independencesoccer.club

Stephen Chaconas

Steele Creek / Gaston Director (Boys and Girls)

stephenc@independencesoccer.club

Colin Gibson

Junior Boys Director North Meck / Lake Norman 

coling@independencesoccer.club

Brandon Michaels

Junior Boys Director York County / Matthews 

brandonm@independencesoccer.club

John Tart

Youth Academy Director 

johnt@independencesoccer.club

Phil Dobbing

Associate Boys Youth Academy

phild@independencesoccer.club

Emily McMillan

Associate Girls Youth Academy

emilym@independencesoccer.club

Rusty Scarborough

Girls ECNL Director

rustys@independencesoccer.club

Emily McMillen

Girls Pre ECNL Director

emilym@independencesoccer.club

Adam Tipper

North Girls ECNL Futures

adamt@independencesoccer.club

Kalla Stark

South Girls ECNL Futures

kallas@independencesoccer.club

David Crutchfield

Senior Girls Director North Meck / Lake Norman

davidc@independencesoccer.club

Sarah Volgelwede

Girls Director York County / Matthews

sarahv@independencesoccer.club

Keith Poston

Recreational Director

keithp@independencesoccer.club

Ralph Latchana

YDP Director

ralphl@independencesoccer.club

Partners
Novant Partner Logo
Adidas Partner Logo
Charlotte Independence Soccer Logo
Leagues & Affiliations